Hey, it’s me,

I want you to know I am proud of who I am today, of who I have become in recent years… but I know you know I couldn’t always say that. I can say now with confidence that I am fully the person that you saw, held onto, and did not want to give up on all those years ago. I understand now that you had to do what you did, for both of us, and that it was out of the love you still had for me that you did.

Sometimes I wish for one more conversation, just to tell you how terribly sorry I am for what happened between us. I wish I could tell you I realize I am to blame, that I realize how badly I let you down with the things I said and should have said, with the things I did and should have done. To say I do not know what I was thinking is not an excuse, it’s the honest truth. The details have faded now, but I know you did not deserve any of it, we were so young and naive, I thought I knew what was best for me and you ultimately paid the price.

Losing you in my life forced me to take a deeper look at myself and who I was becoming. So lastly, I want to say thank you. Thank you for showing me kindness, honesty, friendship, love, and that sometimes the important lessons learned in life are the most difficult. You taught me that letting someone go is sometimes the only way for them to learn to fly.

If I saw you on the street, I do not know how either of us would react… would we share a passing reminiscent smile? would we look away? would we strike up an awkward catch-up conversation? I know it does not matter, you are world away and that was a lifetime ago.

Know that I think of you often and credit some of the triumphs in my life’s journey to you. But most importantly, know that I sincerely wish for the best in life for you, you deserve all the happiness in the world.

 

3 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Those I Hurt Along the Way

Leave a Reply

